ABOUT US

MassAHU is a state chapter of the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU) -  the preeminemt organization for health insurance and employee benefits professionals based in Washington, DC. In tandem with the resources of our national association, MassAHU serves the needs of the Massachusetts market, our members and our clients.  We're dedicated to supporting and enhancing the value of health and benefits brokers in the private insurance market through Legislative Advocacy, Professional Development and CE Programs, Business Resources and Networking Opportunities   

 

NAHU Member Code of Ethics

  • To hold the selling, service and administration of health insurance and related products and services as a professional and public trust and do all in my power to maintain its prestige.

  • To keep paramount the needs of those whom I serve.

  • To respect my clients' trust in me, and to never do anything which would betray their trust or confidence.

  • To give all service possible when service is needed.

  • To present policies factually and accurately, providing all information necessary for the issuance of sound insurance coverage to the public I serve.

  • To use no advertising which I know may be false or misleading.

  • To consider the sale, service and administration of health insurance and related products and services as a career, to know and abide by the laws of any jurisdiction Federal and State in which I practice and seek constantly to increase my knowledge and improve my ability to meet the needs of my clients.

  • To be fair and just to my competitors, and to engage in no practices which may reflect unfavorably on myself or my industry.

  • To treat prospects, clients and companies fairly by submitting applications which reveal all available information pertinent to underwriting a policy.

  • To extend honest and professional conduct to my clients, associates, fellow agents and brokers, and the company or companies whose products I represent.

Massachusetts road trip.jpg

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
2021-2022

The MassAHU Board of Directors is comprised primarily of health insurance and employee benefits brokers just like you.  Some own their own agencies.  Others work in leadership positions in regional or national brokerage firms.  

 

Our board members have expertise in many areas of the benefits market - from small fully insured groups to large self-funded groups, from ancillary benefits to administrative services, and from individual financial services to Medicare/senior products.  We strive to bring diversity, equity and inclusion to our profession and to our leadership.  

 

Board members serve for two year terms beginning on July 1 each year.  If you are interested in serving on the MassAHU board, or if you'd like to nominate someone to serve on the board, please submit your Nomination Form (link) by April 1st to be considered for any open position(s) for the upcoming year.

Stuart_William_G_Casual_Grey_Background.jpg

President

William (Bill) Stuart

Director of Strategy & Compliance

Voya Financial

603.722.7437

william.stuart@voya.com

Gulko-150x150.jpg

Vice President

Legislative Chair

Eric Gulko, J.D.

President

Innovo Benefits Group

978.213.8481

egulko@innovobenefits.com

Joe Lawler.JPG

Treasurer

Legislative Chair

Joseph (Joe) Lawler

Vice President, Employee Benefits

USI Insurance Services LLC

413.750.4414

joe.lawler@usi.com

Puig-150x150.jpg

Secretary

Vanguard Chair

Gregory (Greg) Puig

Director, Benefit Consulting Services

Sentinel Benefits & Financial Group

781.914.1354

gregory.puig@sentinelgroup.com

Shadrick-150x150.jpg

Immediate Past President

Carrier Relations Chair

Matthew (Matt) Shadrick

Executive Vice President

Eastern Benefits Group

508.923.2415

mshadrick@easternbenefitsgroup.com

Chalmers-150x150.jpg

Director

Carrier Relations Co-Chair

Marie Chalmers

Executive Vice President

Marsh & McLennan Agency

617.587.2398

marie.chalmers@marshmma.com

Naomi picture.jpg

Director

Membership Chair 

Naomi Francken

Sales Manager

HSA Insurance

781.228.2178

naomi.francken@hsainsurance.com

Gaunya-150x150.jpg

Director

NAHU Legislative Council Chair

Mark Gaunya

Director

Borislow Insurance Agency 

978.689.8200

mark@borislow.com

DiMase-150x150.jpg

Director

Robert (Rob) DiMase

Partner

Sentinel Benefits & Financial Group

781.914.1223

rob.dimase@sentinelgroup.com 

BG.jpg

Director

Medicare Market Liason

Brian Garity

President

Garity Advantage

800-234-9488

bgarity@garityadvantage.com

linked in picture.jfif

Director

Voluntary Market Liason

Thomas (TJ) Hannon

Voluntary Benefit Specialist

New England Enrollment Strategies

401.559.5778

t.hannon@neenrollment.com

Russell.jpg

Director

Jean Russell

Vice President, Student Health Insurance

AJ Gallagher

 617.769.6420

 jean_russell@ajg.com

McDonald-150x150.jpg

Director

Todd McDonald

Senior Partner

Alera Group

508.799.9100 x116

tmcdonald@aleragroup.com

Shore-150x150.jpg

Director

David A. Shore

SVP, Enterprise Strategy & Risk Management

Borislow Insurance

978.722.1129

david@borislow.com

Jennings-150x150.jpg

Director

Member Engagement Chair

Julie Jennings

508.330.8270

info@massahu.org

JCB head shot (1).jpg

Legislative Counsel

John (Jack) Bartley

Principal

Beacon Hill Consulting Group LLC

617.720.2060

bartley@beaconhillcg.com

Mary 3.jpg

Executive Director

Mary Yokose

(860) 243-3977

myokose@ssmgt.com

 

LEGISLATIVE
ADVOCACY

More info coming soon